Unexpected Guests…

Saturday, while the weather was nice,  I went to a new spot to paint outside… a water canal park which is part of the Hudson River Canal System.  There is lots of water, and marshy areas that are really beautiful. As I was walking along the path to set up my easel there was a four-foot  heron who decided to walk a few feet in front of me on the path. Surprisingly he was not afraid of me, and we walked “together” for quite a way.  As I watched him   I thought what a wonderful unexpected guest!  But as my day went on, I  was quickly  reminded that all guests aren’t created equal….

After I set up my easel and started painting in the late afternoon sun, I was attacked by a swarm of gnats! And when I say swarm, I mean swarm.  They were getting on the painting, in my hair, and biting my arms.  And, guess who forgot to pack the bug spray?  Needless to say, the session was cut short, and the painting finished in the studio. Here is  my painting, Canal Park, which  holds memories of two of the most unexpected of  guests.  ~Rita

canal-park-second-best-tweaked_opt

Canal Park, 8×10 oil pastel

6 thoughts on “Unexpected Guests…

  1. Beautiful, Rita. You are a maestro mark maker with oil pastel, a challenging medium. Like being right there In the marsh at twilight. When I was golfing at any shore course with heavy gnat populations, always put some Skin So Soft on the top of my hat…. Kept the swarm away from my face….Works like a charm.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Tom! That is quite a compliment! Oil pastels are a challenging medium for sure, but the one that I am totally drawn to. I will have to remember the skin so soft tip! I don’t like to use harsh chemicals, and as I recall the skin so soft is very mild. Thanks! ~Rita

      Like

Leave a Reply

