Those Quiet Reprieves…

It was one of those days today. I ran through my day doing a little of this and a little of that. All those things you really don’t want to do but has to be done…. worked on my taxes, stayed on hold with my insurance company forever, stayed in a line too long at the post office, went to the bank, got soaked in an unexpected downpour, etc., Now at midnight  I am very tired, and thinking that I wanted to post the painting I finished yesterday. I find myself wondering about what I want to say about this particular painting. And as I was wondering, I passed by my studio, the painting still on the easel, and  immediately knew what I wanted to say. Whether it is a landscape, a still life, or a dancer, these images I see and try to create in art bring me to a quiet reprieve from life. Watching these dancers, in their world of color and movement, concentrating on their practice quiets me. A quiet reprieve from the frenetic life we all experience at times. For tonight, it was just what I needed.  ~Rita

ballet-practice-final

Ballet Practice, 8×10 oil pastel

14 thoughts on “Those Quiet Reprieves…

  1. this is a lovely painting Rita! filled with beauty and poise and purpose; the colors are gorgeous in their quiet way.
    I hope that, your Tomorrow shall be of a more ‘congenial’ day. And that the sun peeks out! cheers, Debi

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

