Graceful Repose

I have always been in intrigued by people who dedicate their life to one true passion. Those who for are willing to give up all else in their lives to do that one true thing. I am fortunate to live in an area that hosts the New York City Ballet for several weeks in the summer each year, and these young women who dance for us season after season are some of my favorite examples of this. I often think about their dedication… hours and hours of work day after day, week after week,….  being so singularly focused to perform these amazing productions. I often wonder about their lives…. who these ballerinas are behind the scenes, apart from what we see, and for these reasons, they are one of my favorite subjects to paint.  ~Rita

 

Graceful Repose, oil pastel, 11x14

Graceful Repose, oil pastel, 11×14

 

23 thoughts on “Graceful Repose

  1. Hey Rita – beautiful painting. First figure work I’ve seen by you. Nice! Great subject matter and nicely composed. Wonderful colors and the light on the foreground is mesmerizing! Just returned from a few days in Boston and spent a day at the BFAM. Saw several Sargant, Homer, and Degas pieces. Could spend a week there. Also spent an afternoon in Stockbridge at the Rockwell museum. So much to learn. Looking forward to seeing more of your life work. – Tom

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for the nice comments Tom! I had a lot of fun with this painting. Unfortunately a lot of the detail and layer is washed out in the photo. I am glad you noticed the light in the foreground, … that was layers and layers of oil pastels that I left set up over days, and was one of my favorite parts of the painting. Your time in Boston sounds terrific. I know what you mean about wanting to spend a week there! That’s always how I feel after I leave. Thanks again for the comments and your support. It’s much appreciated. ~Rita
      PS. I have a few other ballerina pieces on the blog, if you click on the left you will see a section of them under my name in case you are interested.

      Like

    1. Hi Pauline, thanks for the comments! No, they are not wearing wigs, lol. I can see how it might look that way though. The wonders of my bad camera! They all do have the same color family of hair, but there is more variation in the original painting that didn’t show up in the photo. ~Rita
      PS. Even it is a criticism, feel free! I always like to hear peoples comments, positive or negative! 🙂

      Like

  2. Gorgeous piece painting Rita – do like the Degas feel to the scene, void of faces just impressions. Form poses are not easy, these look natural and relaxed. Wonderful work on the dresses, the layers of OPs are built beautifully. Love the harmony of color throughout. So good to see you explore a new subject.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Really lovely colours you have chosen and I like all the textures you have created in the ballerinas dresses. You have made pastel painting look a lot of fun – I look forward to seeing more of these!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow Rita, what a beautiful painting. You are blessed to be around such creativity and beauty. It is intriguing to think of other peoples lives, what it must be like for them. I think that to do so is honoring them, in a way, as humans; instead of just seeing them as ballerinas but giving them thought, pondering their lives, that they have families and homes and connections to others…it is interesting. You are a sweet soul Rita. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. How beautiful, Rita. Love to see you painting figures. Looks great! My eyes are drawn to the drama of light and dark in the background. What beautiful colors! Also love how the upper part of the dresses sort of blend into the dark. It’s such a classical impressionist subject and you did it beautifully, with a lot of love.//Heidi

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

