A Living Work of Art…

Last October my husband and I celebrated twenty-five  years of marriage. Over the past few months I have been thinking about commitment. Commitment of all kinds–between a husband and wife, a mother to her child, a friend to a friend, an artist to her art.  It seems as though in commitment, commitment of all kinds, there are stumbling blocks: bumps in the road, disappointments, both sun and clouds. But in the end what is most important is the relationship that you hold sacred in spite of the ups and downs. There have been times in my life when I think my muse is sleeping on the job; times when I disappoint, and times when I am disappointed. But as with all important relationships in your life, you stick with them; work it out and persevere because in the end it is what life is all about. I am very fortunate to have a group of people in my life, some family and some friends, who have shown me this kind of commitment through their love, support and friendship over many decades of my life. These people are treasures to me, ports during my storms, bright spots in my days. And I feel so blessed to know them. Perhaps, commitment, in its truest form, is one of life’s most beautiful works of art.    ~Rita

Twenty Five Years 5x7 oil pastel

Twenty Five Years, 5×7 oil pastel

22 thoughts on “A Living Work of Art…

  1. Most assuredly Rita, I’m with you on that. Nice painting by the way and like relationships I see a bow that ties the relationship together. I see the flowers that speak of temporal beauty, fragility and compatibility…just like relationships, just like humans; our lives are like flowers, they bud and blossom, give off an amazing fragrance and radiance… then one day they fade away leaving their seed to continue the journey. I see a vase that contains the relationship, it allows those in the relationship to be seen at their best…and the solidity of the vase speaks of the commitment, in my own imaginings…there is also the reflection on the vase, reflected light, to me it could possibly be an icon of one who is committed to reflecting that perfect Light. I appreciate you, thanks for allowing me to muse. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for such a lovely comment Heather! The flowers were a gift from my very dear friend (who was a bridesmaid of mine on our wedding day !) and gave them to me to carry as my husband and I renewed our vows. I am glad that the painting moved you and I always enjoy and appreciate your heartfelt comments! Thanks so much for taking the time to share them with me. 🙂 ~Rita

      Like

  2. This is a beautiful pastel, and I agree fully with what you’ve written here. I even think that commitment, when love and passion are involved, becomes something almost simple… something that just happens. The left ‘corner’ of the vase is very eye-catching, what with that small dab of light there.
    Congratulations on 25 years! October is my anniversary too — the best month of the year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Pauline! I always appreciate your comments and support. October is one of my favorite months too… we have lovely autumns here. Glad you noticed the little dab of light… that’s one of my favorite parts of the painting. 🙂 ~Rita

      Like

  3. Beautiful words on commitment. You are such a wise woman and I am so glad I found your blog, I am really enjoying it. When I look at this painting I think both the vase and the flowers look very solid. I haven’t experienced your flower paintings as solid before, this one is different. Then I think about your writing again, and it all makes sense.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Perseverance always makes a big difference – and goes along with commitment As long as one don’t give up any bump is possible to overcome. I love the still life commemorating the 25 years. A belated congratulations.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

