God’s Country

The  first time I set foot in the Adirondacks 35 years ago, I was visiting  my friend  who referred to it as “God’s Country.” The location was a place called “Canada Lake” in Northern New York. It was at that time that I fell in love with the area, and it has been in my blood ever since. I am intrigued by the painters in the last couple of hundred years  that have attempted to capture the beauty of this area we call Upstate New York.   They are of course the Hudson River School Painters. One of my favorite artists from this era is Arthur Parton, who not only painted upstate New York, but also the coast of Maine. The coast of Maine also holds a special place in my heart, and because of this, I feel a kind of kinship with him. I  wonder about all of these artists that have left such legacies, and although I unfortunately will never have a chance to meet them, their work inspires me; and I am thankful that the results of  their thousands of hours of painting continue to teach  me so much.   ~Rita

 

arthur parton study last_opt

Arthur Parton Study, oil pastel

 

 

17 thoughts on “God’s Country

  1. …..this example of Arthur Paton is stunningly moving–so like J.W.Turner, it seems almost inconceivable that it isn’t! Having grown up on the NY/Vt border, the Adirondacks are just as you describe them–a rare place on this earth.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your kind words about my painting! That’s quite a compliment!!
      I am glad you can relate to this area of the world too. I think a lot of people think of “the big city” when they think of New York, and don’t know about the beauty of upstate new York. It amazes me to think that the Adirondacks are about the size of the state of Rhode Island!! Thanks again for stopping by. I am enjoying following your blog …. your watercolors and stories are great! ~Rita

      Like

  2. lovely post and your painting is gorgeous. Artists and groups like the River Hudson School are so important to us, to me artists from the past open up the history of the old days and definently help me in my work too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, so true Anna. I love looking at artists from the past, and thinking about what their lives were like….how I would have loved to meet some of them! Thanks for your kind words about the painting. Your comments are always appreciated! ~Rita

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow Rita that is beautiful! I like the name of the Lake also (of course being Canadian). It is always a joy to see your work, I’m impressed. I am like you in that I am intrigued by artists from the past, I think about their lives and study the works…it is so very inspiring. Thanks for sharing this beautiful piece.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Heather, thanks for stopping by and your kind comments. Your visits are always appreciated. Yes, there is so much to be inspired by from looking at artists from the past, not only in their art but also their lives. It seems to me that fine art and the artists that created that art was much more in forefront of peoples lives than what we experience today. I can only imagine what being born in a time like that would be like. Thanks again~Rita

      Like

  4. This painting is truely magnificent! The Adirondacks keeps climbing on my wishlist for places to visit. I wonder whether it would be as fantastic when seeing it without the the filter your eyes. I always enjoy reading about the lives of artists, I feel so connected to them. We all have the same struggles, the same doubts and luckily, at times, wonderful flow. We are all students, studying and learning from the works of previous masters.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for your comments Heidi! I think you would find the Adirondacks even more fantastic than I have portrayed in my paintings on these posts! They are truly amazing! I too feel so connected to artists of the past. I think you are right… as artists and as people we have very similar experiences. Thanks for stopping by!~Rita

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

