By the Light of the Moon

It’s been almost a year since I decided to put my camera away and paint mainly from my sketches and memory.  I do still use the camera for my cityscapes because I need the reference for perspective and lighting direction.  I think it has helped my work in many ways particularly since it forces me to do a lot more drawing in the field.  For some reason, my brain remembers more when I draw than when I paint.  I have read that many artists have the same experience.  It also allows for more creativity in creating compositions, mood and atmosphere which I find to be more rewarding that the straight forward plein air exercise.  The pastel below is based on a small oil painting which was based on a pencil sketch from memory.   This image reminds me of so many lovely summer evenings.  I hope it does for you as well . . .          – Eden

Moonrise

2 thoughts on “By the Light of the Moon

Leave a Reply

