My Husband’s Regret…

I just got my new full set of sennelier oil pastel grandes in the mail  over the weekend and I can’t tell you how excited I am. For those of you who have never used oil pastels (which is, I imagine, 99 percent of the adult population) let me tell you that this is the crème de la crème of oil pastels. For a mere … (cough cough)… well, lets leave out the price…..you get pigment that goes on as smooth as lipstick, in colors that are just gorgeous. I am not sure anyone really understands my excitement about these colorful sticks. I showed my husband, in the hopes of him sharing in my joy, but all he said was, “My one regret in life is that you will never look at me in the same way you look at those oil pastels”.  Yikes, I ‘ve been caught.    ~Rita

 

interlude7_opt

Before the Gala, 8×10 oil pastel

 

29 thoughts on “My Husband’s Regret…

  1. I totally understand your excitement – I was lucky enough to sell a small painting, and used the money to buy a full set of regular sized Sennelier oil pastels which just arrived over the weekend too! 🙂

    Beautiful painting, by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, the surface definitely influences the result. This piece was done on ampersand pastelbord which is a sanded surface with quite a bit of tooth. Its been my experience that oil pastels work best (at least for me ) on surfaces that have some tooth so that the pastels can be layered. Some artists do work on smooth surfaces, but its a much different experience. Work done on paper, hardboard, and canvas can look very different. Also, the quality of the pastels will make quite a difference. Some are harder, and have a different look to them then the softer oil pastels, that go on more like paint. Hope that’s helpful. Thanks for stopping by. ~Rita

      Like

  2. So Degas-like! Wow, this here is such a beautiful piece.
    My own experience with oil pastels is of the incredibly cheap variety — the kind that goes on more like crayon. I recently went to my local art shop and tried out a few of the better quality ones, and was still unimpressed with the texture and flow. So smooth as lipstick you say? Gosh. I love how the background looks so very soft, with the colours blending so well, while the tutus on the dresses look to have a thicker scratchiness to them… it’s really very pretty. Sometimes I find paintings with humans in them easier to look at for an extended period of time, simply because I want to imagine their lives, this moment they have been immortalised in… everything, really.
    Again, beautiful work! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for such a wonderful comment Pauline. I also like paintings with people in them for the same reasons. I don’t usually put people in my work, because I find it difficult to really capture the soul of a person, or a moment as you say. And without that, in my opinion the panting falls flat. I guess its really kind of the same for landscapes…. the ones that really speak to me are the ones that really capture the feeling or essence of a place… without that , they are just ho-hum. I am glad you found these dancers interesting. I had a lot of fun painting them. Thanks for the encouragement.
      ~Rita

      Like

  3. Gorgeous a Degas-like feel to your ballerina scene Rita. Just saw a few of his ballerina paintings this past winter, your work here reminds me. Beautiful delicacy achieved – love it!

    A set of Sennelier grandes, very cool – Senneliers have become my favorite OPs and I love the Ampersand Board, it’s an awesome surface for Oil Pastels and underpaintings.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Mary! I love Degas’ work… that’s quite a compliment! I am glad you enjoyed the painting.
      Yes, the Senns are great. And using them on ampersand board is a double treat. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and as always, thanks for your support. ~Rita

      Like

  4. Congratulations on your new set of pastels. Great to hear about your excitement, I would surely be just as euphoric. But I wouldn’t even try to explain it to my husband 😀 Looking forward to seeing what comes out of the box!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. love the gorgeous ephemeral quality to your painting; the colours are lovely!
    …….. and if I owned ONLY Sennelier oil pastels – well, then, that could be a new story. They are The Best!!! lucky you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Gorgeous colors in this piece, Rita. I’ve never used oil pastels on anything but wood and haven’t used any at all for many years. Your beautiful piece makes me want to go buy some. Not sure my budget can stand the crème de la crème though. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Anne! I appreciate you stopping by. Different brands of the oil pastels will provide you with different effects. There is a vast difference in the hard oil pastels and the softer ones. Good luck with your experimenting with them. I will look forward to seeing what you do. ~Rita

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

