Irresistible…

There is something I find irresistible about Lilacs. I’m not sure if its the smell, or the way they sway in the breeze on a warm spring day, but I am mesmorized by them. We have a large white lilac bush and a smaller purple on on the side of our house, and this year I cut a few and put them in a vase inside. On my way to the grocery store today, keys and list in hand, they caught my eye, and that was the end of grocery shopping for a couple of hours. Yes, irresistible. As I painted, I wondered what  life would be like without these things from nature we just simply can’t resist. Thankfully, we will never have to know.  ~Rita

 

LILACS AND LACE FINAL

Lilacs and Lace, 5×7 oil pastel

 

17 thoughts on “Irresistible…

  1. absolutely fantastic painting, love the blue! great tones and soft lovely edges 🙂 …. (are we related? lol ) The one flower I most miss from the USA is my lilac!! its perfume is to heavenly I used to think it was addictive, I’d inhale it all day 🙂 Beautiful Painting Rita

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Debi! Yes, they are really amazing flowers. So glad you like the painting and it brought back good memories for you. And yes, we must be related because the quote on your blog from Georgia Okeefe that you just posted is one of my favorite of hers! 🙂

      Like

  2. Wonderful painting with gorgeous blues. I love it how you were captivated by the beauty and that it made you change your plans. Would love to see a detail closeup of your work sometime, as I am not so familiar with the oil pastel technique.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Heidi, Thanks for stopping by and your comments on the painting. I am glad you like it! A lot of people are not familiar with oil pastels… you are not alone in that. Thanks for the suggestion to post a close up of some of my work. I will try to get some photos and post them. ~Rita

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

