A Sense of Place…

I was visiting my mother who lives in New England this weekend . A very wise woman who will turn 90 years old next month. We had a lovely time together, and as we were chatting, I noticed how much she spoke about the little things in her surroundings… the birds that she loves, the flowering bushes outside her door, the sun-catchers that put rainbows on her walls when the light hits them. Yes, my mom is one of those people who has perfected the art of gratitude. But beyond that I realized how much she connects to her surroundings, how much this place she has lived is a part of her, a part of her soul. As I was driving back home to the Adirondacks, and once again, taken with the beauty of the land,  I realized how important a sense of place is to each of us. That place, wherever it may be, that we feel at home.  I suppose its one of the reasons I paint the landscape…. to connect more fully with it, to know it just a little better and to feel the beauty in that  place I call home.  ~Rita

rough222_opt

Coming Home 11×14 oil pastel

 

29 thoughts on “A Sense of Place…

    1. I would be one lucky person if the apple didn’t fall far from the tree in this instance, as my mother is truly a remarkable person! Thanks so much for your kind comments. As always, they are very much appreciated. ~Rita

      Like

  1. You are so right. This sense of place is extremely important. I never paint mountains because I come from a place which doesn’t have them. It’s not that I don’t like them, but there are other things which speak to me much more.
    Your mother must be a great person since she is grateful for these nice things which surround her. I think that’s all what matters: how one looks at it. There’s so much beauty in every grass stem, in every petal of bloom, we just have to see it. You have probably inherited that ability to feel and portray such things. Great landscape!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much for taking the time to comment. Yes, my mother is a wonderful person, I am very lucky to have her in my life. And yes, beauty is all around us if we just stop to look. Thanks for your kind words and comment on the painting. They are appreciated!~Rita

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

