Pure, Lovely and True…

My sister and I were recently having a conversation about a part in the Bible where it says one should  think on things that are pure, lovely and true.  In thinking about this, the coast of Ogunquit Maine, one of God’s most exquisite creations, and one of my favorite places,  comes  to my mind. With its green and blue translucent  waters, and the lyrical movement of the waves,….  Pure, Lovely and True, seem like adjectives that fit.  Certainly  a good thing to think on. And from that thinking,  this painting came to be.   ~Rita

OGONQUIT FINAL

Ogunquit, Maine, 8×10 oil pastel

 

23 thoughts on “Pure, Lovely and True…

  1. Hi-

    Love your work. FYI I went back to blogger, since I could not overcome the redirect loop which had frozen the wordpress blog. Goldenabode.com

    Cheers

    Kim Cooper Zephyr Real Estate CalBRE# 01861118 m.415 717-6114 e.kim@goldenabode.com w.goldenabode.com a.2523 California St SF CA 94141

    Like

  2. Remarkable! Oil pastels? Wow! I guess that’s why the colors are so deep and complex.
    I’m a total atheist, but the things you said are beautiful!

    I try to use oil pastels, I even bought some by Senelier (pardon my spelling I’m using my phone and it’s a pain to look stuff up). But still I can’t do anything good with them. Do you have any tips about using them? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad my words touched you Ruthie. And thanks for the kind comments on the painting. As for oil pastels, they take a little getting used to. The sennelier that you bought are top of the line, but that being said, they are very creamy and a little bit harder to control in my opinion, especially for detailed work. You might want to try a brand that’s a little bit harder, like Holbein, or neopastels. Also, the support you use can make a huge difference in the outcome of the painting. The surface has to have quite a bit of tooth to layer the pastels. I like gessoed hardboard, pastel paper, or even some cardstock can work well. Good luck! ~Rita

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

