I confess….

I confess… I am a hoarder. Not a hoarder in general, but a hoarder of art stuff. I can’t help myself.  I can’t throw away paper that I tried and didn’t like; that easel that never really worked for me; that acrylic ground that just wasn’t quite the right texture.  I guess I save it all because it speaks of possibilities to me. Part of the fun in my process of creating is not knowing where I am going to end up.  So having all this stuff around give me a place to explore…. with materials that I use every day, and materials that I initially didn’t like. It’s a nice surprise when that old thing that was thought to be useless winds up being the very thing that brings a painting to life.  And its a reminder to me to always look for the unexpected in art as well as in life—sometimes we receive the biggest blessings from the least expected.  ~Rita

Woodland Song

Woodland Song, 11×14 oil pastel

 

14 thoughts on “I confess….

  1. I think it’s a good idea to save your work and art stuff. I do it with photos, cameras and other stuff I use in my photography. As you say it’s a place for inspiration – and some of those things one maybe didn’t like at some point could be seen in a different light later in life.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rita, this is just gorgeous. the composition really works too for showcasing a lone tree and there’s such serenity in the woods. I hope your show was a big success! Thanks so much for your encouragement on my blog…

    Like

Leave a Reply

